الأخبار

إظهار FMUSER RDS-A Encoder في اجتماع منتدى RDS

RDS-A التشفير

طلقة-الشعارات

وطوال ما يقرب من ثلاثة عقود ، توفر الموجة الفرعية من الموجة الحاملة الفرعية لنظام راديو البيانات (RDS) للراديو FM لراديو FM القدرة على نقل تدفق البيانات الرقمية إلى المستمعين. كانت RDS بطيئة التطور في الولايات المتحدة في البداية ، إلا أن إدخال خدمات الراديو الرقمية في أوائل 2000 قد بشر أيضًا بإمكانية استخدام RDS بشكل كبير لتوفير عنوان الأغنية والفنان والمعلومات المتعلقة بالمرور إلى RDS استقبال مكرسة. تشير التقديرات إلى وجود أجهزة راديو مجهزة بـ 5 مليار RDS في جميع أنحاء العالم.

على الرغم من كونها مفيدة للغاية ، فإن إشارة RDS محدودة للغاية في سعة البيانات ، وتشتمل معايير RDS (IEC 62106 و NRSC-4-B) على عدد من الميزات التي أصبحت قديمة ولم تعد هناك حاجة إليها. نظرًا لهذه العوامل ، وافق منتدى RDS ، وهو مجموعة تطوير ومعايير قائمة على المعايير الأوروبية ومسؤولة عن التطوير الأولي والصيانة المستمرة لنسخة IEC من Standard ، في اجتماعه السنوي في يوليو 2014 لبدء النظر في تحديث لـ RDS سوف تعالج هذه القضايا. تم عقد اجتماع متابعة لمناقشة تعزيز مقترح يسمى "RDS2" في بودابست في نوفمبر 2014 والذي نتج عنه "وثيقة جدوى" تصف نظام RDS2 المقترح.

عقد منتدى RDS اجتماعه السنوي 2015 ، وتم عرض نموذج أولي لنظام RDS2. علاوة على ذلك ، بعد مناقشة الفوائد المحتملة التي يوفرها هذا النظام الجديد ، أنشأ منتدى RDS مجموعة عمل بهدف تحديث معيار RDS ليشمل RDS2. ويرد وصف موجز لل RDS2 هنا:

  • يوفر RDS2 إمكانية إرسال واحد أو اثنين أو ثلاثة من الموجات الحاملة الفرعية الإضافية إلى جانب ، وهي متطابقة في بنية ، مع ناقل الحركة الفرعي RDS القديم. بينما تتمركز الموجة الفرعية الفرعية في kHz 57 (داخل النطاق الأساسي FM) ، تتمركز الموجات الحاملة الفرعية الثلاثة الجديدة في 66.5 و 71.25 و 76 kHz (كما هو الحال مع الموجة الفرعية الوراثية 57 kHz ، تكون كل هذه الموجات الحاملة الفرعية الجديدة مشتقة من كتيبة 19 kHz) . يُظهر الشكل أدناه مخططًا طيفيًا للحمليتين الفرعيتين RDS و RDS2 ونغمة 19 kHz الدليلية (هذه القطعة من نظام النموذج الأولي المعروض على منتدى RDS) ؛
  • rds2 الطيفتم تصميم تصميم نظام RDS2 المقترح من قبل Attilla Ladanyi و T & C Holdings (ألمانيا) و Peter Jako ، Radio Hungarian. تم تطوير أجهزة الإرسال التجريبي التي يتم عرضها وعرضها في منتدى هذا العام بواسطة Allen Hartle و Seth Stroh (الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية) ، وتستند إلى منصة JumpGate2 الخاصة بـ Jump3Go. تم تطوير أجهزة الاستقبال التجريبي من قبل هندريك فان دير بلوج ، كاتيناند جوب بوندرز ، ماكبي (هولندا). تظهر صورة الإعداد التجريبي أدناه. لاحظ أن هذا الإرسال الفعلي "عبر الهواء" منخفض الطاقة.rds2-اختبار الإعداد
  • سيتم استخدام الموجات الحاملة الفرعية الجديدة RDS2 حصريًا لنقل معلومات "تطبيق البيانات المفتوحة" (ODA). وقد أُنشئت المساعدات الإنمائية الرسمية ، التي كانت تُنشأ في السابق كجزء من تنسيق RDS القديم ، لدعم مجموعة متنوعة من خدمات البيانات ، وهي الطريقة الرئيسية التي تستخدم بها الخدمات الجديدة RDS. وبما أنه سيتم تحرير الموجات الحاملة الفرعية الجديدة من نقل مختلف أنواع "البيانات العامة" من بيانات RDS مثل شفرات معلومات البرنامج (PI) ورموز خدمة البرنامج (PS) ، فإن سعة البيانات الإجمالية لإشارة RDS2 ("الحمولة النافعة") يتم تشغيلها ترتيب 10 إلى 20 من المرات (أو أكثر) من ذلك المتوفرة مع الموجة الفرعية RDS القديمة وحدها.
  • وترد مقارنة بين سعة البيانات في الجدول أدناه ، حيث تتم مقارنة ثلاث حالات: توضح الحالة 0 السعة (في معدل البتات الفعال) للموجة الفرعية RDS القديمة حيث تُستخدم نسبة 10٪ من الحمولة في نقل بيانات ODA (هذا هو سيناريو نموذجي يستخدم اليوم) ؛ تمثل الحالة 1 مرة أخرى حاملة فرعية RDS قديمة ولكن هذه المرة مع حمولة XAUMX٪ ODA ، مما يدل بشكل أساسي على أقصى حمولة ناتجة من حمولة ODA باستخدام إشارة RDS القديمة ؛ وأخيرًا ، توضح الحالة 70 تحسنًا في 3 في سعة الحمولة النافعة ODA عند استخدام جميع الموجات الحاملة الفرعية RDS30 الثلاثة لنقل بيانات 2٪ ODA (بافتراض عدم وجود بيانات ODA على الموجة الفرعية القديمة ؛ هذه هي حالة الاستخدام المقترحة لـ RDS100). بالنسبة إلى هذا الجدول ، يشير "STREAM 2" إلى تدفق البيانات المستخدم لتعديل الناقل الفرعي RDS القديم بينما يشير "STREAMS_0-1" إلى تدفقات البيانات التي تعدل الموجات الحاملة الفرعية RDS3 الثلاثة.
  • rds2-الجدول 1
  • تتضمن بعض التطبيقات الجديدة المقترحة والتي يمكن دعمها بواسطة RDS2 إمكانية إرسال شعار المحطة واستخدام مجموعة أحرف UTF-8 لدعم سلاسل النص الطويلة لخدمة النص والبرنامج النصي. حالياً ، هذه التطبيقات غير قابلة للدعم مع RDS بسبب السعة المحدودة للنظام الحالي كما هو موضح في الحالات الموضحة في الجدول أعلاه.

    ومع استكمال عرض النموذج الأولي الناجح وأعضاء منتدى RDS بالاتفاق على دمج RDS2 في المعيار ، فإن مهمة مجموعة عمل منتدى RDS التي تم تشكيلها حديثًا هي تطوير المواصفات التفصيلية لـ RDS2 ، بالإضافة إلى تحديد الأقسام القديمة من المعايير القائمة التي يمكن القضاء عليها. سوف يشارك مدير أول ، الهندسة المتقدمة ديفيد ليتر ، الذي شارك في اجتماع منتدى RDS لهذا العام كحلقة اتصال للجنة الوطنية لنظم الراديو (NRSC ، برعاية NAB وجمعية الإلكترونيات الاستهلاكية) ، في مجموعة عمل منتدى RDS. وستعمل على ضمان توافق المعيار الأوروبي المحدث مع إصدار NRSC لمعيار RDS (NRSC-4-B ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية RBDS قياسي).

بالتوازي مع أعمال تطوير المعايير ، يعتزم منتدى RDS العمل على تحديد "التطبيقات القاتلة" لـ RDS2 ، وتحديد شركاء تصنيع الشرائح والمستقبل المهتمين بتطوير الأجهزة التي ستدعم هذه الترقيات لنظام RDS. كما يتم التخطيط للتواصل مع المذيعين لإطلاعهم على هذا العمل ، والبحث عن مدخلاتهم ومشاركتهم في عمليات وضع المعايير وتطوير التطبيقات.

سيتم عرض FMUSER RDS-A Encoder في 2018 قريبًا.

شارك

أترك تعليق

1 الاستجابة

  1. جون 2018 / 08 / 20 في 16: 46: 40

    هل تعرف كم عدد مركبات RDS الممكّنة في الولايات المتحدة؟

News

FMUSER RDS-A Encoder Demonstrated at RDS Forum Meeting

RDS-A Encoder

rds-logos

For nearly three decades the Radio Data System (RDS) digital FM subcarrier has been providing FM broadcasters the ability to transmit a digital data stream to listeners. Developed in Europe, RDS was slow to take hold in the U.S. at first, but the introduction of digital radio services in the early 2000’s also heralded a significant uptake in the use of RDS to provide song title and artist and traffic-related information to RDS-equipped receivers. It is estimated that there are currently over 5 billion RDS-equipped radios worldwide.

 

While extremely useful, the RDS signal is severely limited in data capacity, and the RDS Standards (IEC 62106 and NRSC-4-B) include a number of features that have become out-of-date and are no longer needed. Given these factors, the RDS Forum, a European-based standards-development group responsible for the initial development and on-going maintenance of the IEC version of the Standard, agreed at its annual meeting in July 2014 to begin considering an update to RDS that would address these issues. A follow-on meeting to discuss a proposed enhancement called “RDS2” was held in Budapest in November 2014 which resulted in a “feasibility document” describing the proposed RDS2 system.

 

The RDS Forum  held its 2015 annual meeting, and a prototype RDS2 system was demonstrated.  Further, after deliberating the potential benefits afforded by this new system, the RDS Forum created a Working Group with the goal of updating the RDS Standard to include RDS2. A brief description of RDS2 is given here:

  • RDS2 offers the ability to transmit one, two or three additional subcarriers along with, and identical in structure to, the legacy RDS subcarrier. While the legacy subcarrier is centered at 57 kHz (within the FM baseband), the three new subcarriers are centered at 66.5, 71.25 and 76 kHz (as with the legacy 57 kHz subcarrier, these new  subcarriers are each derivable from the 19 kHz pilot). Shown in the figure below is a spectral plot of the RDS and RDS2 subcarriers and the 19 kHz pilot tone (this plot is from the prototype system demonstrated to the RDS Forum);
  • rds2-spectrumThe proposed RDS2 system design was developed by Attilla Ladanyi, T&C Holdings (Germany) and Peter Jako, Hungarian Radio. The demo transmission hardware operated and on display at this year’s Forum was developed by Allen Hartle and Seth Stroh,  (USA), and is based upon Jump2Go’s “JumpGate3” platform; the demo reception hardware was developed by Hendrik van der Ploeg,Catenaand Joop Beunders, Macbe (Netherlands). A photo of the demo setup is shown below. Note that this was an actual low-power “over-the-air” transmission.rds2-test-setup
  • New RDS2 subcarriers will be used exclusively to transmit “Open Data Application” (ODA) information. Previously established as part of the legacy RDS format, ODAs are used to support a variety of data services, and are the principal way that new services utilize RDS. Since the new subcarriers will be freed from transmitting the various “overhead” types of RDS data such as the Program Information (PI) and Program Service (PS) codes, the overall data capacity of the RDS2 signal (for “payload”) is on the order of 10 to 20 times (or more) of that available with the legacy RDS subcarrier alone.
  • A comparison of data capacity is given in the table below, where three cases are compared: Case 0 illustrates the capacity (in effective bit rate) of a legacy RDS subcarrier where 10% of the payload is used for transmitting ODA data (this is a typical scenario in use today); Case 1 again represents a legacy RDS subcarrier but this time with a 70% ODA payload, showing essentially the maximum ODA payload throughput using the legacy RDS signal; and finally, Case 3 shows a 30-fold improvement in ODA payload capacity when all three RDS2 subcarriers are used to carry 100% ODA data (assuming no ODA data on the legacy subcarrier; this is the proposed use case for RDS2). For this table, “STREAM 0” refers to the data stream used to modulate the legacy RDS subcarrier while “STREAMS_1-3” refers to the data streams modulating the three RDS2 subcarriers.
  • rds2-table-1
  • Some of the new applications that are proposed for and would be supportable by RDS2 include the ability to transmit a station logo and the use of the UTF-8 character set to support longer Radio Text and Program Service text strings. Currently, these applications are not supportable with RDS because of the limited capacity of the existing system as illustrated by the cases shown in the above table.

    With the completion of the successful prototype demonstration and the RDS Forum members in agreement that RDS2 should be incorporated into the Standard, it is now the task of the newly formed RDS Forum Working Group to develop the detailed specification for RDS2, and in addition to identify the obsolete sections of the existing Standards that can be eliminated. NAB Senior Director, Advanced Engineering David Layer, who participated in this year’s RDS Forum meeting as a liaison for the National Radio Systems Committee (NRSC, co-sponsored by NAB and the Consumer Electronics Association), will be participating in the RDS Forum Working Group, and will work to ensure compatibility of the updated European Standard with the NRSC’s version of the RDS Standard (NRSC-4-B, United States RBDS Standard).

In parallel with the Standards development work, the RDS Forum intends to work on identifying “killer applications” for RDS2, and identifying chip and receiver manufacturer partners interested in developing hardware that will support these upgrades to the RDS system. Outreach is also planned to broadcasters to inform them of this work, and to seek out their input and participation in the Standards-setting and applications development processes.

FMUSER RDS-A Encoder will be Demonstrated in 2018 soon.

Share

Leave a Reply

1 Response

  1. jon 2018/08/20 at 16:46:40

    do you know how many RDS enabled vehicles are in the United States?